It’s November (and I have a stack of books to read)!

I’m celebrating the start of the month by showing off my November to-be-read stack and the introduction of the new Starbucks holiday cups.

Yesterday was a rough day. I had a minor emergency that made me leave work early, I had a super busy day, and didn’t get to bed until late. But, my salted caramel mocha and the promise of a great month of reading cheered me up.

Unintentionally, I have a lot of young adult novels on my list this month. I find YA novels are easier to read, but the authors I have selected this month don’t let their stories suffer because of it.

Turtles All the Way Down by John Green might be the most anticipated YA novel of the year. John Green is back with this new novel after the success of The Fault in Our Stars. Turtles All the Way Down follows the story of Aza, a sixteen-year-old who finds herself in an investigation of fugitive Russell Pickett, and how her life is affected by her choices and her own thoughts. Click here to read more about this novel. I am really excited to get into this book even with the mixed reviews. I’ve enjoyed some of John Green’s other books and I think I might be able to relate to this book pretty well.

Stalking Jack the Ripper by Kerri Maniscalco is a book I’m really excited to get into. I’ve had a very close friend talk about how it’s own of the best YA books she’s read in a while. This book is about Audrey Rose Wadsworth, a seventeen-year-old lord’s daughter who leads a secret life in the world of forensic science. This book is followed by Hunting Prince Dracula, which continues Audrey’s story. I’m hoping this series impresses me as much as it has other people. Learn more about Stalking Jack the Ripper here. 

I think the book that I am most excited to read is Jane, Unlimited by Kristin Cashore. An old friend of my posted about how excited she was to read this book and it seems so whimsical and fun. It’s a coming-of-age story about Jane, a magic house, and umbrellas. Check out the full description here.

My final YA book this month is An Enchantment of Ravens by Margaret Rogerson. This book is a fantasy novel set in another world (which I love). It’s about a young woman, Isobel, who paints portraits of creatures who crave human creations. Isobel then paints a prince, Rook, with a sadness in his eyes that could destroy him. Rook then banishes her to another land to stand trial for her crime. This book follows Isobel’s journey to prove her innocence and her decision to using her art to fight against ancient power or sacrifice it for in exchange for her life. Read the full description and reviews here.

The other book in my stack this month that is not a YA novel is The Shining by Stephen King. I don’t think this book doesn’t need a description from me (but if you’d like one, you can see it here) since it’s a very famous King novel. I’ve been told by many (my mom included) that this should be the very first King novel that anyone reads. It’s apparently one of his best and happens to be a little shorter than some of his other works. This one made it to my list since I wanted to keep the Halloween spirit going throughout November.

Not included in this picture are the books I ordered from Book of the Month Club. I’m not sure if those three books will make it to my list this month, but I order Artemis by Andy Weir, Bonfire by Krysten Ritter, and The Future Home of the Living God by Louise Erdich. All of these books sounded really good so I’m hoping they deliver (BOTM rarely fails in impressing me).

I’m willing to bet I’ll stray from this list a bit as the month progresses, but I always like to have a plan of what I’d like to read for the month. How do you guys choose your books? Do you plan out a TBR list for the month or do you go with the flow?

Leave a comment